CBC’s 2020/2021 Season

CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNTS 2020 – 2021

The 121th Christmas Bird Count
Saturday, December 14, 2020 through Sunday, January 5, 2021.

NOTE: Information shown below is correct only for counts with a confirmed date.

Updates will be made as we receive count dates from around the Province.

If your count date does not appear below, or information needs adding or correcting, please leave a reply in the comment box at the bottom of this table with the changes to be made.

 Thanks.

Count Name Date….. Compiler/Contact Phone # Email
100 Mile House  Dec 17 Paul Foth 604-799-2215 paulrfoth@gmail.com
Abbotsford-Mission Dec 29 Mr. Lynn M. Miller lynnmelvinmiller@hotmail.com
Apex-Hedley Discontinued
Armstrong-Enderby Geoff Styles 250-833-0391 gem_styles@yahoo.ca
Ashcroft-Cache Creek Dec 22 Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Atlin
Bamfield   Anne Stewart 250-728-3469 astewart.bamfield@gmail.com
Bella Coola Dec 19   Mary Tutt 15metutt@gmail.com
Big White   Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Bridesville   Doug Brown 250-495-6164 douglasbrown01@yahoo.ca
Bridge Lake Dec 14  Wendy Marshall and Gordon Marshall 250-593-2327 wendy.gordonm@gmail.com
Broughton Strait Dec 27 Gordon Curry 250-671-9005 gord.curry@gmail.com
Burns Lake-Francois Lake Discontinued Judy Kleger 250-695-6585 jude@cyber-solutions.ca
Cache Creek    Wendy Coomber wcoomber@telus.net
Campbell River Dec 27

Alternate date Jan 3 

Amandy Vaughn

Kim Prystupa

Doug Phyall

mandyjv@telus.net<

balticseadove@gmail.com

dphyall@shaw.ca

Castlegar Dec 19  Craig Sandvig craigsandvig@gmail.com
Cawston Lee McFadyen 250-499-5404 mariposaorgf@hotmail.com
Chilliwack Dec 19  Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Comox  Dec 20 Art Martell amartell@shaw.ca
Cortes Island Dec 27

Alternate date Jan 2

Nancy Kendel

Gina Trzesicka

250-935-8508 cimas@twincomm.ca
Cranbrook  Dec 20 Dianne Cooper kestrelmc@gmail.com
Creston Valley Dec 27 Ulrike Sliworsky 250-428-7747 info@crestonvalleybirds.ca
D’Arcy-Birken Dec 14 Ann Robertson 604-452-3522 robert_i@telus.net
Dawson Creek Jan 2  Mark Phinney 250-843-2318 badgreenbird@gmail.com
Deep Bay  Dec 14 Art Martell amartell@shaw.ca
Duncan Jan 1 Carol Milo

Eric Marshall

Gail Mitchell

 

cmilo@telus.net
Edgewood Dec 28

Alternate      Dec 30

Jean Bassett jean@edgeconnection.ca
Fauquier Jan 2 Shelly Bortnick sbretreat@gmail.com
Fernie Mike Bentley bentley@ucalgary.ca
Fort St. James Jan 2  Joanne Vinnedge 250-996-7401 vinnedgj@telus.net
Galiano-North Saltspring Dec 15 Mike Hoebel (Galiano)

Tim Marchant (N.Saltspring)

mhoebel@telus.net

tim@timmarchant.com

Golden   Joan Dolinsky joandolinsky@gmail.com
Grand Forks   Jenny Coleshill 250-442-7969 jenny.coleshill@grandbywilderness.ca
Greater Massett Dec 27  Rev. Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 delkatla@mhtv.catebird@gmail.com
Harrison River Dec 14  Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Harrop–Balfour Cancelled Charlie Zinka charlie.zinkan@gmail.com
Hat Creek Dec 28  Ken Wright kwright2008@gmail.com
Hecate Strait Weather dependent. No date set. Peter Hamel 250-626-3585 hecatebird@gmail.com
Kamloops Dec 21  Rick Howie 778-362-0195 howierick@gmail.com
Kaslo  Dec 30 Stuart Heard 250-353-7432 heardstuart@gmail.com

 

Kelowna Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Kimberley  Jan 3 Dianne Cooper Pre-registration required kestrelmc@gmail.com
Kingfisher Susan Everatt susan_everatt@telus.net
Kitimat Dec 15  April MacLeod mac2aa@citywest.ca
Kuskanook  Jan 3 Ulrike Sliworsky 250-428-7747 info@crestonvalleybirds.ca
Ladner Dec 20 Co-compilers:
Yousif Attia & George Clulow
778-689-2473 cbc@birdscanada.org
Lake Country Dec 14 Les Gyug 250-769-5907 les_gyug@shaw.ca
Lake Windermere   Cam Gillies cam.gillies@telus.net
Langara Island Weather dependent. No date set.  Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Lardeau Dec 27 Marlene Johnston 250-366-4474 macmar@lardeauvalley.com
Lasqueti Island  Dec 30 Sheila Ray 250-333-8884 sheila@lasqueti.ca
Lillooet  Dec 27 Ken Wright kwright2008@gmail.com
Little R.-Powell R. Ferry Art Martell amartell@shaw.ca
Logan Lake Dec 21  Ray Town 250-523-9474 gayle_ray@telus.net
Lower Howe Sound Jan 1 Marja de Jong Westman (West Van)
Richard Wing (Bowen Island)
604-921-3382

604-947-9294

mdjw@telus.net
rwing@telus.net
Mackenzie David Lambie 250-997-4033 DLambie@telus.net
McBride Dec 20 Elsie Stanley 250-569-2596 glen.elsie.stanley@gmail.com
Merritt  Dec 20 Alan Burger 250-378-2468 aburger@uvic.ca
Naden Harbour Weather dependent. No date set.  Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Nakusp Jan 3  Gary Davidson gsd37@yahoo.ca
Nanaimo Dec 27 Heidi van Vliet

Bryan Vroom

heidi.vanvliet@hotmail.ca
Nanoose Bay Joe Crichton 250-747-1802 joecrichton@shaw.ca
Narcosli Cancelled  Brian Murland 250-747-1802 murlands@msn.com
Nelson Jan 2  Elaine Moore 250-352-2168 elmodass@telus.net
Oliver-Osoyoos   Doug Brown 778-437-2048
Parksville-Qualicum Beach Dec 20  Jim Goodwin  

Susan Knoerr

250-248-5565 susanknoerr@gmail.com
Peachland Dec 29  Jason & Mathias Bieber 250-718-7519 mbieber1488@gmail.com
Pemberton-Mt. Currie  Dec 17 Allen McEwan 604-894-6063 mcewansfarm@shawbiz.ca
Pender Harbour  Dec 16 Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Pender Islands (incl. Mayne & Saturna) Dec 19 John Peetsma jfpeetsma@shaw.ca
Penticton Dec 20 Dick Cannings dickcannings@shaw.ca
Pitt Meadows Jan 2 Jennifer Tayes (Pitt Meadows)
Victoria  Otton (Tri-cities)
jtayes@shaw.ca

victoria_otton@sfu.ca

Port Alberni Dec 27  Annette Bailey  250-793-5408 dabailey100@gmail.com
Port Clements  Dec 18 Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Powell River Andrew Bryant anddrewbryant@shaw.ca
Prince George   Cathy Antoniazzi 250-562-2845 canton1@telus.net
Princeton  Dec 19 Cathy Lahaie 250-295-7596 encmail@gmail.com
Quesnel  Cancelled Adrian Leather 250-249-5561 q-birds@xplornet.com
Revelstoke Dec 19  Don Manson 250-837-3676 dwman@telus.net
Rivers Inlet Mouth Sarah Cooper sjcooper63@gmail.com
Rose Spit Dec 21  Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Rossland-Warfield Dec 20 Linda Szymkowiak 250-362-7107 lszymk@telus.net
Salmon Arm  Dec 20 Ted Hillary 250-832-4755 tedhillary@shaw.ca
Savona-Walhachin Dec 23  Ray Town 250-523-9474 gayle_ray@telus.net
Shuswap Lake P.P.  TBA Rick Howie 778-362-0195 howierick@gmail.com
Sidney-South Saltspring Dec 20 Daniel Donnecke sidneycbc@naturevictoria.ca
Skidegate Inlet  Dec 16 Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Slocan Lake Richard Johnson 250-358-2590 richard.slrc@gmail.com
Smithers Dec 27 Rosamund Pojar 250-847-9429 rpojar@gmail.com
Soda Creek   Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Sooke Dec 27  Robyn Byrne sookecbc@naturevictoria.ca
Squamish  Dec 20 Marcia Danielson 604-898-9420 myd123@telus.net
Stuix-Tweedsmuir Dec 21 Dennis Kuch dok@stuix.ca
Sunshine Coast Dec 19  Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Terrace  Dec 27 Diane Weismiller 250-635-6984 dweismiller@telus.net
Tlell  Dec 30 Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Trail-Beaver Valley Discontinued
Tumbler Ridge   Charles Helm helm.c.w@gmail.com
Vancouver Dec 19 P. Candido pcandido328@shaw.ca
Vaseux Lake  Dec 27 Richard Cannings 250-493-3393 dickcannings@shaw.ca
Vernon Dec 20

Tentative pending Covid Status.

Rick Bonar rick.bonar@hotmail.com
Victoria Dec 19  Ann Nightingale victoriacbc@naturevictoria.ca
Wells & Bowron Lakes   Birch Kuch flageolet@hotmail.com
Whistler Dec 15  Shawn Mason cell 604-612-1167 Shamas.mason5@gmail.com
White Rock Dec 27 Gareth Pugh gareth@intergate.ca
Williams Lake Dec 20 Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Yalakom Valley   Eleanor Wright 778-770-1649 eleanor.ronaele@gmail.com
Yoho National Park Dec 18 James Telford k.james.telford@gmail.com

 

Last updated November 28, 2020

17 responses to “CBC’s 2020/2021 Season

  1. When are the totals for B.C. (and the Okanagan in particular) posted online? Thanks.

    • We’ll post the remainder of the Okanagan counts on our results page when we receive them from the compilers. Please note these are not official results, just provisional as the results come in.

      Totals for BC are published by Bird Studies Canada in Bird Watch Canada magazine in the spring .

      Full official results for all counts may be found at the National Audubon Society .

  2. Frank Schroeder

    I am disappointed to see Princeton and Cawston scheduled for the same day! Princeton entered my calendar weeks ago when it was published above. Cawston recently published a date for the same day as Princeton, yet there are 3 free days prior and 2 days post Princeton’ count available for a hundred miles around Cawston for January 3.
    I am saddened to see these conflicting, neighboring count dates? Sadly – I must miss one!
    Not to encumber the status qua – but could not “dates” be filtered through a single compiler in the province? Or, in your lead in above – urge compilers to have a second look?
    Frank Schroeder — Hedley

    • Hi Frank,

      BCFO voluntarily provides this one-stop-shop for Christmas Bird Count information as a service to members, and for the general public. It seems a suitable function for a province-wide organization like ourselves to provide.

      While many members like yourself are significant contributors to the CBC program, BCFO has no involvement in how the CBC’s are operated and organized. That’s not our role here, nor one that we have the capacity to take on.

      You could consider taking up your concerns with the individual count compilers, or with the BSC Canadian Coordinator via the Bird Studies Canada website. You’ll find the CBC page under Citizen Science.

      Regards

      George Clulow

  3. Could you please let me know if there is a bird count schedule for either New Denver or Silverton, BC?

    • Closet counts still to be done are Castlegar and Nakusp, both on Jan. 02. Check the contacts on the BCFO website under CBC.

      Cheers
      Larry Cowan

  4. Diane Weismiller

    I think Terrace will have its count on December 27th weather permitting.
    Diane

  5. Karl Sturmanis

    I live in New Westminster and notice that there appears to be no CBC contact. I am interested in doing a count in New West… born and grew up here and just moved back. My background: biologist (speciality hawks & owls) and land use planning.

    • Hi Carl, there is no count circle centred on New Westminster, nor do other count circles capture any areas of the city. Your nearest opportunities to join a CBC are to participate in the Vancouver, White Rock, Ladner, or Pitt Meadows counts. I’m sure one or more of these counts would appreciate your participation. Contact information on this page.

  6. Pleas change my contact info for BCVI (Victoria). Still Ann Nightingale, but email victoriacbc@naturevictoria.ca and phone is 250-5114-6450.

    Also Sooke coordinators are now Travis Muir and Charlene Lloyd, email sookecbc@naturevictoria.ca.

  7. Hello! Re. the Sooke count for 2019, Travis is no longer able to particpate. Please update by removing his name as a contact. Many thanks!

  8. BCPQ date is Dec 15, 2019. Note new compiler is Sandra Gray saninerr@shaw.ca 250-248-5565

  9. His name has been removed. Thanks for letting us know.

  10. Despite (mostly) decent weather and an incredible team of counters, the Victoria Christmas Bird Count may have had its lowest species count in several years. There are still some lists outstanding, so we may tick up a couple, but as of the post count, it looks like we’ll have 134 species for the day. Tundra Swan and Golden Eagle may have also been seen, but at this point, lack appropriate documentation.

    Highlights include the CBC’s fifth ever Red-throated Pipit, at least according to the historical information on the Audubon site. Other species of note include Rusty Blackbird, American Tree Sparrow (in two locations) and Palm Warbler.

    Misses among our regulars include Brant, Ring-necked Pheasant, Surfbird, Sanderling, Barn Owl, Western Screech Owl, Northern Saw-whet Owl, Sky Lark, Evening Grosbeak, and Red Crossbill.

    Perhaps most shocking was the number of zones that reported missing Canada Goose!

    Thanks to everyone who got out yesterday to participate, many of whom are up again to do the Sidney/South Salt Spring count this morning! Much appreciation to the zone leaders, who make one of the largest teams of field counters possible. (BTW, Victoria had the highest number of field counters for the CBC last year with 285. I suspect that this year’s numbers may be a bit lower.

    Ann Nightingale
    Saanichton

  11. HI, I’m taking over the 100 Mile House coordinating from Barrie Bolton for the 2020-2021 season.
    Phone: 604-799-2215, email: paulrfoth@gmail.com.

    The date will be forthcoming. Thanks!

    Paul Foth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s