CBC’s 2021/2022 Season

CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNTS 2021-2022

The 122nd Christmas Bird Count
Tuesday, December 14, 2021 through Wednesday, January 4, 2022

NOTE: Information shown below is correct only for counts with a confirmed date.

Updates will be made as we receive count dates from around the Province.

If your count date does not appear below, or information needs adding or correcting, please leave a reply in the comment box at the bottom of this table with the changes to be made.

 Thanks.

Count Name Date….. Compiler/Contact Phone # Email
100 Mile House  Dec 17 Paul Foth 604-799-2215 paulrfoth@gmail.com
Abbotsford-Mission Dec 30 Barring flooding issues Kenn Summers ken.summers@telus.net
Armstrong-Enderby Jan 3 Geoff Styles 250-833-0391 gem_styles@yahoo.ca
Ashcroft-Cache Creek Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Bamfield Dec 21 Daniel Zayonc danielzayonc@gmail.com
Bella Coola Dec 18  Mary Tutt 15metutt@gmail.com
Big White Dec 16  Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Bridesville  
Bridge Lake Wendy Marshall and Gordon Marshall 250-593-2327 wendy.gordonm@gmail.com
Broughton Strait Jan 2 Gordon Curry 250-671-9005 gord.curry@gmail.com
Burns Lake-Francois Lake
 
Campbell River Jan 2 Reschedule Amandy Vaughn
Kim Prystupa
Doug Phyall
mandyjv@telus.net
balticseadove@gmail.com
dphyall@shaw.ca
Castlegar Dec 19  Craig Sandvig craigsandvig@gmail.com
Cawston Jan 2 Lee McFadyen 250-499-5404 mariposaorgf@hotmail.com
Chilliwack Dec 18  Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Comox  Dec 19 Krista Kaptein kapteink@shaw.ca
Cortes Island Jan 2 Nancy Kendel
Gina Trzesicka
250-935-8508 cimas@twincomm.ca
Cranbrook  Dec 26 Dianne Cooper dicooper.bc@outlook.com
Creston Valley Dec 27 Ulrike Sliworsky 250-428-7747 info@crestonvalleybirds.ca
D’Arcy-Birken Dec 19 Ann Robertson 604-452-3522 robert_i@telus.net
Dawson Creek Jan 2 Mark Phinney 250-843-2318 badgreenbird@gmail.com
Deep Bay Dec 15 Kelly Kline  rkkline@netbistro.com
Duncan Jan 3 Gail Mitchell duncanbc@naturevictoria.ca
Edgewood Dec 27 Jean Bassett jean@edgeconnection.ca
Fauquier Jan 3 Shelly Bortnick sbretreat@gmail.com
Fernie Mike Bentley bentley@ucalgary.ca
Fort St. James Dec 28  Joanne Vinnedge 250-996-7401 vinnedgj@telus.net
Galiano-North Saltspring Dec 19 Mike Hoebel (Galiano)Tim Marchant (N.Saltspring) mhoebel@telus.net

tim@timmarchant.com

Golden Dec 26 Joan Dolinsky joandolinsky@gmail.com
Grand Forks   Jenny Coleshill 250-442-7969 jenny.coleshill@grandbywilderness.ca
Greater Massett Dec 27 Rev. Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 delkatla@mhtv.catebird@gmail.com
Harrison River Dec 14 Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Harrop–Balfour Dec 18 Charlie Zinka charlie.zinkan@gmail.com
Hat Creek Dec 28 Heather Baines birdbaines@gmail.com
Hecate Strait Early January Weather Permitting Peter Hamel 250-626-3585 hecatebird@gmail.com
Kamloops Dec 19  Rick Howie 778-362-0195 howierick@gmail.com
Kaslo Dec 30 Stuart Heard 250-353-7432 heardstuart@gmail.com
Kelowna Dec 18 Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Kimberley Jan 2 Dianne Cooper dicooper.bc@outlook.com
Kingfisher Susan Everatt susan_everatt@telus.net
Kitimat  Dec 18 Sue Thorne swthorne@telus.net
Kuskanook Jan 3 Ulrike Sliworsky 250-428-7747 info@crestonvalleybirds.ca
Ladner Dec 19 Co-compilers:
Yousif Attia & George Clulow
778-689-2473 cbc@birdscanada.org
Ladysmith Dec 19 Robert Hay 250-755-5745 rbhay2020@gmail.com
Lake Country Dec 14 Les Gyug 250-769-5907 les_gyug@shaw.ca
Langara Island Weather dependent. No date set.  Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Lardeau Dec 27 Marlene Johnston 250-366-4474 macmar@lardeauvalley.com
Lasqueti Island  Dec 29 Sheila Ray 250-333-8884 sheila@lasqueti.ca
Lillooet  Dec 26 Ian Routley Ianrout@telus.net
Little R.-Powell R. Ferry Dec 30 Art Martell amartell@shaw.ca
Logan Lake  Dec 20 Ray Town 250-523-9474 gayle_ray@telus.net
Lower Howe Sound Jan 2 Marja de Jong Westman (West Van)

Micaele Florendo mmaddison@hotmail.com (Bowen Island)

604-921-3382 mdjw@telus.netrwing@telus.net
Mackenzie David Lambie 250-997-4033 DLambie@telus.net
McBride Dec 19 Elsie Stanley 250-569-2596 glen.elsie.stanley@gmail.com
Merritt Dec 18 Alan Burger 250-378-2468 aburger@uvic.ca
Naden Harbour Weather dependent. No date set.  Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Nakusp Jan 2  Gary Davidson gsd37@yahoo.ca
Nanaimo Rescheduled

Jan 3

Heidi van Vliet
Bryan Vroom
heidi.vanvliet@hotmail.ca
Nanoose Bay Dec 17

Tentative

Joe Crichton 250-747-1802 joecrichton@shaw.ca
Narcosli  Dec 23 Brian Murland 250-747-1802 murlands@msn.com
Nelson  Jan 3 Elaine Moore 250-352-2168 elmodass@telus.net
Oliver-Osoyoos  Jan 2 Doug Brown 778-437-2048
Parksville-Qualicum Beach Dec 19  Jim Goodwin
Susan Knoerr
250-248-5565 susanknoerr@gmail.com
Peachland Dec 29  Mathias Bieber 250-718-7519 mbieber1488@gmail.com
Pemberton-Mt. Currie Dec 16 Allen McEwan 604-894-6063 mcewansfarm@shawbiz.ca
Pender Harbour  Dec 22 Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Pender Islands (incl. Mayne & Saturna) Dec 18 Pender Island: John Peetsma jfpeetsma@shaw.ca cbc.bcpi@gmail.com
Penticton Dec 19 Dick Cannings dickcannings@shaw.ca
Pitt Meadows Jan 1 Jennifer Tayes (Pitt Meadows)
Victoria Otton (Tri-cities)
jtayes@shaw.ca

victoria_otton@sfu.ca

Port Alberni Dec 27 Annette Bailey  250-793-5408 dabailey100@gmail.com
Port Clements Dec 21  Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Powell River Dec 18 Andrew Bryant andrewbryant@shaw.ca
Prince George Dec 19 Cathy Antoniazzi 250-562-2845 canton1@telus.net
Princeton  Dec 18 Cathy Lahaie 250-295-7596 encmail@gmail.com
Quesnel Jan 2 Adrian Leather 250-249-5561 q-birds@xplornet.com
Revelstoke Dec 18 Don Manson 250-837-3676 dwman@telus.net
Rivers Inlet Mouth Totally weather dependent Sarah Cooper sjcooper63@gmail.com
Rose Spit  Dec 23 Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Rossland-Warfield Dec 19 Linda Szymkowiak 250-362-7107 lszymk@telus.net
Salmon Arm Dec 19 Ted Hillary 250-832-4755 tedhillary@shaw.ca
Savona-Walhachin  Dec 21 Ray Town 250-523-9474 gayle_ray@telus.net
Shuswap Lake P.P. Dec 15  Rick Howie 778-362-0195 howierick@gmail.com
Sidney-South Saltspring Dec 19 Daniel Donnecke sidneycbc@naturevictoria.ca
Skidegate Inlet  Dec 18 or 19 Tentative Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Slocan Lake Dec 29 Anne Champagne annec@uniserve.com
Smithers Dec 27 Rosamund Pojar 250-847-9429 rpojar@gmail.com
Soda Creek   Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Sooke Dec 27  Robyn Byrne sookecbc@naturevictoria.ca
Squamish  Dec 18 Marcia Danielson 604-898-9420 myd123@telus.net
Stuix-Tweedsmuir Dec 21 Dennis Kuch dok@stuix.ca
Sunshine Coast  Dec 19 Changed from Dec 18 due to heavy rain forcast Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Terrace  Dec 20 Diane Weismiller 250-635-6984 dweismiller@telus.net
Tlell  Dec 30 Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Tumbler Ridge Dec 27 Charles Helm helm.c.w@gmail.com
Vancouver Dec 18 P. Candido pcandido328@shaw.ca
Vaseux Lake  Dec 27 Richard Cannings 250-493-3393 dickcannings@shaw.ca
Vernon Dec 19 Chris Siddle chris.siddle@gmail.com
Victoria Dec 18 Ann Nightingale victoriacbc@naturevictoria.ca
Wells & Bowron Lakes   Birch Kuch flageolet@hotmail.com
Whistler  Dec 14 Shawn Mason cell 604-612-1167 Shamas.mason5@gmail.com
White Rock  Jan 2
Gareth Pugh gareth@intergate.ca
Williams Lake  Dec 19 Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Yalakom Valley  Jan 2 Eleanor Wright 778-770-1649 eleanor.ronaele@gmail.com
Yoho National Park Dec 18  James Telford k.james.telford@gmail.com

Last updated December 31, 2021

17 responses to “CBC’s 2021/2022 Season

  1. When are the totals for B.C. (and the Okanagan in particular) posted online? Thanks.

    • We’ll post the remainder of the Okanagan counts on our results page when we receive them from the compilers. Please note these are not official results, just provisional as the results come in.

      Totals for BC are published by Bird Studies Canada in Bird Watch Canada magazine in the spring .

      Full official results for all counts may be found at the National Audubon Society .

  2. Frank Schroeder

    I am disappointed to see Princeton and Cawston scheduled for the same day! Princeton entered my calendar weeks ago when it was published above. Cawston recently published a date for the same day as Princeton, yet there are 3 free days prior and 2 days post Princeton’ count available for a hundred miles around Cawston for January 3.
    I am saddened to see these conflicting, neighboring count dates? Sadly – I must miss one!
    Not to encumber the status qua – but could not “dates” be filtered through a single compiler in the province? Or, in your lead in above – urge compilers to have a second look?
    Frank Schroeder — Hedley

    • Hi Frank,

      BCFO voluntarily provides this one-stop-shop for Christmas Bird Count information as a service to members, and for the general public. It seems a suitable function for a province-wide organization like ourselves to provide.

      While many members like yourself are significant contributors to the CBC program, BCFO has no involvement in how the CBC’s are operated and organized. That’s not our role here, nor one that we have the capacity to take on.

      You could consider taking up your concerns with the individual count compilers, or with the BSC Canadian Coordinator via the Bird Studies Canada website. You’ll find the CBC page under Citizen Science.

      Regards

      George Clulow

  3. Could you please let me know if there is a bird count schedule for either New Denver or Silverton, BC?

    • Closet counts still to be done are Castlegar and Nakusp, both on Jan. 02. Check the contacts on the BCFO website under CBC.

      Cheers
      Larry Cowan

  4. Diane Weismiller

    I think Terrace will have its count on December 27th weather permitting.
    Diane

  5. Karl Sturmanis

    I live in New Westminster and notice that there appears to be no CBC contact. I am interested in doing a count in New West… born and grew up here and just moved back. My background: biologist (speciality hawks & owls) and land use planning.

    • Hi Carl, there is no count circle centred on New Westminster, nor do other count circles capture any areas of the city. Your nearest opportunities to join a CBC are to participate in the Vancouver, White Rock, Ladner, or Pitt Meadows counts. I’m sure one or more of these counts would appreciate your participation. Contact information on this page.

  6. Pleas change my contact info for BCVI (Victoria). Still Ann Nightingale, but email victoriacbc@naturevictoria.ca and phone is 250-5114-6450.

    Also Sooke coordinators are now Travis Muir and Charlene Lloyd, email sookecbc@naturevictoria.ca.

  7. Hello! Re. the Sooke count for 2019, Travis is no longer able to particpate. Please update by removing his name as a contact. Many thanks!

  8. BCPQ date is Dec 15, 2019. Note new compiler is Sandra Gray saninerr@shaw.ca 250-248-5565

  9. His name has been removed. Thanks for letting us know.

  10. Despite (mostly) decent weather and an incredible team of counters, the Victoria Christmas Bird Count may have had its lowest species count in several years. There are still some lists outstanding, so we may tick up a couple, but as of the post count, it looks like we’ll have 134 species for the day. Tundra Swan and Golden Eagle may have also been seen, but at this point, lack appropriate documentation.

    Highlights include the CBC’s fifth ever Red-throated Pipit, at least according to the historical information on the Audubon site. Other species of note include Rusty Blackbird, American Tree Sparrow (in two locations) and Palm Warbler.

    Misses among our regulars include Brant, Ring-necked Pheasant, Surfbird, Sanderling, Barn Owl, Western Screech Owl, Northern Saw-whet Owl, Sky Lark, Evening Grosbeak, and Red Crossbill.

    Perhaps most shocking was the number of zones that reported missing Canada Goose!

    Thanks to everyone who got out yesterday to participate, many of whom are up again to do the Sidney/South Salt Spring count this morning! Much appreciation to the zone leaders, who make one of the largest teams of field counters possible. (BTW, Victoria had the highest number of field counters for the CBC last year with 285. I suspect that this year’s numbers may be a bit lower.

    Ann Nightingale
    Saanichton

  11. HI, I’m taking over the 100 Mile House coordinating from Barrie Bolton for the 2020-2021 season.
    Phone: 604-799-2215, email: paulrfoth@gmail.com.

    The date will be forthcoming. Thanks!

    Paul Foth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s