CBC’s 2018/2019 Season

CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNTS 2018 – 2019

The 119th Christmas Bird Count
Friday, December 14, 2018 through Saturday, January 5, 2019.

NOTE: Information shown below is correct only for counts with a confirmed date.

Updates will be made as we receive count dates from around the Province.

If your count date does not appear below, or information needs adding or correcting, please leave a reply in the comment box at the bottom of this table with the changes to be made.

Thanks.

Count Name Date….. Compiler/Contact Phone # Email
100 Mile House TBA
Barrie Bolton 250-383-5127 barrie.bolton@gmail.com
Abbotsford-Mission Dec 28 Lynn Miller lynnmelvinmiller@hotmail.com
Apex-Hedley   Eva Durance 250-492-0158 edurance@vip.net
Armstrong-Enderby ? Geoff Styles 250-833-0391 gem_styles@yahoo.ca
Ashcroft-Cache Creek Dec 22
Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Atlin TBA
annagaleschmidt@gmail.com
Bamfield Dec 14
Anne Stewart 250-728-3469 astewart.bamfield@gmail.com
Bella Coola Dec 16
 Mary Tutt 15metutt@gmail.com
 Big White Dec 23
Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Bridesville ?
Doug Brown 250-495-6164 douglasbrown01@yahoo.ca
Bridge Lake Dec 15
Wendy Marshall 250-593-2327 gwmarshall@xplornet.com
Broughton Strait Dec 22
Pete Curtis bigpete@telus.net
Burns Lake-Francois Lake Judy Kleger 250-695-6585 jude@cyber-solutions.ca
Cache Creek  ?
James Hallisey jheb@telus.net
Campbell River Dec 30
Luisa Richardson Lu_rich@shaw.ca
Castlegar Jan 02
Craig Sandvig craigsandvig@gmail.com
Cawston ? Lee McFadyen 250-499-5404 mariposaorgf@hotmail.com
Chilliwack Dec 15
Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Comox Dec 16
Marg Fowler 250-338-4368 marg_fowler2000@yahoo.ca
Cortes Island ? Nancy Kendel 250-935-8508 cimas@twincomm.ca
Cranbrook Dec 29
Dianne Cooper 250-427-1921 dicooper.bc@outlook.com
Creston Valley Dec 27
Sharon Laughlin 250-428-7289 slscats2@gmail.com
D’Arcy-Birken Dec 18
Ann Robertson 604-452-3522 robert_i@telus.net
Dawson Creek Jan 05
Mark Phinney 250-843-2318 badgreenbird@gmail.com
Deep Bay Dec 20
Marg Fowler 250-338-4368 marg_fowler2000@yahoo.ca
Duncan Jan 01
Derrick Marven 250-748-8504 marven@shaw.ca
Edgewood ? jean@edgeconnection.ca
Fauquier ? Ruth Bumpus 250-269-7481
Fernie Dec 18
Mike Bentley bentley@ucalgary.ca
Fort St. James Dec 29
Joanne Vinnedge 250-996-7401 vinnedgj@telus.net
Galiano-North Saltspring Dec 16
Mike Hoebel (Galiano)

Peter McAllister (N.Saltspring)

mhoebel@telus.net
pbmcallister@gmail.com
Golden Dec 27
Ellen Zimmerman 250-348-2225 ellenzim@uniserve.com
Grand Forks Dec 22
Jenny Coleshill 250-442-7969 jenny.coleshill@grandbywilderness.ca
Greater Massett Dec 27
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Harrison River Dec 18
Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Harrop–Balfour Dec 15
Charlie Zinka charlie.zinkan@gmail.com
Hat Creek Dec 27
Heather Baines 604-938-1738 birdbaines@gmail.com
Hecate Strait ? Peter Hamel 250-626-3585 hecatebird@gmail.com
Kamloops Dec 16
Rick Howie 250-578-7542 r.howie@shaw.ca
Kaslo Dec 30
Stuart Heard 250-353-7432 heardas@kaslo.org
Kelowna Dec 15
Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Kimberley Jan 05
Dianne Cooper 250-427-1921 dicooper.bc@outlook.com
Kingfisher ? Susan Everatt susan_everatt@telus.net
Kitimat Dec 15
April MacLeod mac2aa@citywest.ca
Ladner Dec 22
Jude Grass 604-219-2043 judegrass@shaw.ca
Lake Country Dec 14
Les Gyug 250-769-5907 les_gyug@shaw.ca
Lake Windermere Dec 26
Cam Gillies cam.gillies@telus.net
Langara Island ?
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Lardeau Dec 27
Marlene Johnston 250-366-4474 macmar@lardeauvalley.com
Lasqueti Island Dec 30
Sheila Ray 250-333-8884 sheila@lasqueti.ca
Lillooet Dec 26
Ian Routley 250-256-4062 ianrout@telus.net
Little R.-Powell R. Ferry Dec 31
Marg Fowler 250-338-4368 marg_fowler2000@yahoo.ca
Logan Lake Dec 21
Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Lower Howe Sound Dec 30 Marja de Jong Westman (West Van)
Richard Wing (Bowen Island)
604-921-3382

604-947-9294

mdjw@telus.net
rwing@telus.net
Mackenzie ? David Lambie 250-997-4033 DLambie@telus.net
McBride Dec 16
Elsie Stanley 250-569-2596 glen.elsie.stanley@gmail.com
Merritt Dec 16
Alan Burger 250-378-2468 aburger@uvic.ca
Naden Harbour ?
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Nakusp Dec 30
Gary Davidson 250-265-4456 gsd37@yahoo.ca
Nanaimo Dec 29
Tanya Seebacher 250-739-9070 tanyaseebacher@gmail.com
Nanoose Bay Dec 14
Joe Crichton 250-747-1802 joecrichton@shaw.ca
Narcosli Dec 30
Brian Murland 250-747-1802 murlands@msn.com
Nelson Jan 05
Elaine Moore 250-352-2168 elmodass@telus.net
Oliver-Osoyoos Dec 29
Parksville-Qualicum Beach Dec 16
Guy Monty
PQCBC@shaw.ca
Peachland Dec 27
Jason & Mathias Bieber 250-718-7519 mbieber1488@gmail.com
Pemberton-Mt. Currie Dec 18
mcewansfarm@shawbiz.ca
Pender Harbour Dec 19
Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Pender Islands (incl. Mayne & Saturna) Dec 15
Gerald McKeating 250-629-3840 geraldmckeating@shaw.ca
Penticton Dec 16
Eva Durance  edurance@vip.net
Pitt Meadows Jan 05 Michael Sather (Pitt Meadows)
Victoria (Tri-cities)
michaelsather@gmail.com

victoria_otton@sfu.ca

Port Alberni Dec 29
Annette Bailey  250-793-5408 dabailey100@gmail.com
Port Clements Dec 19
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Powell River TBA Heather Harbord 604-485-5379 hharbord@shaw.ca
Prince George Dec 16
Cathy Antoniazzi 250-562-2845 canton1@telus.net
Princeton Dec 16
Cathy Lahaie 250-295-7596 encmail@gmail.com
Quesnel Dec 23
Adrian Leather 250-249-5561 q-birds@xplornet.com
Revelstoke Dec 23
Don Manson 250-837-3676 dwman@telus.net
Rivers Inlet Mouth ? sjcooper63@gmail.com
Rose Spit TBA
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Rossland-Warfield Dec 15
Linda Szymkowiak 250-362-7107 lszymk@telus.net
Salmon Arm Dec 16
Ted Hillary 250-832-4755 tedhillary@shaw.ca
Savona-Walhachin Dec 23
Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Shuswap Lake P.P. Dec 29
Rick Howie 250-578-7542 r.howie@shaw.ca
Sidney-South Saltspring Dec 16
Daniel Donnecke sidneycbc@naturevictoria.ca
Skidegate Inlet Dec 30
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Slocan Lake Dec 29
Richard Johnson 250-358-2590 richard.slrc@gmail.com
Smithers Dec 30
Rosamund Pojar 250-847-9429 rpojar@gmail.com
Soda Creek Dec 22
Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Sooke Dec 30
Travis Muir & Charlene Lloyd sookecbc@naturevictoria.ca
Squamish Dec 15
Marcia Danielson 604-898-9420 myd123@telus.net
Stuix-Tweedsmuir Dec 21 Dennis Kuch dok@stuix.ca
Sunshine Coast Dec 15
Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Terrace Dec 30
Diane Weismiller 250-635-6984 dweismiller@telus.net
Tlell Dec 17
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Trail-Beaver Valley Discontinued
Tumbler Ridge Jan 05
Charles Helm 250-242-3984 helm.c.w@gmail.com
Vancouver Dec 16
Adrian Grant-Duff 604-263-7957 angrantduff@gmail.com
Vaseux Lake Dec 22
Richard Cannings 250-493-3393 dickcannings@shaw.ca
Vernon Dec 16
Rick Bonar rick.bonar@hotmail.com
Victoria Dec 15
Ann Nightingale victoriacbc@naturevictoria.ca
Wells & Bowron Lakes Dec 28
Birch Kuch flageolet@hotmail.com
Whistler Dec 14
James Hallisey jheb@telus.net
White Rock Dec 29
Gareth Pugh gareth@intergate.ca
Williams Lake Dec 16
Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Yalakom Valley Jan 01
Eleanor Wright 778-770-1649 eleanor.ronaele@gmail.com
TBA

Last updated December  17, 2018

12 responses to “CBC’s 2018/2019 Season

  1. When are the totals for B.C. (and the Okanagan in particular) posted online? Thanks.

    • We’ll post the remainder of the Okanagan counts on our results page when we receive them from the compilers. Please note these are not official results, just provisional as the results come in.

      Totals for BC are published by Bird Studies Canada in Bird Watch Canada magazine in the spring .

      Full official results for all counts may be found at the National Audubon Society .

  2. Frank Schroeder

    I am disappointed to see Princeton and Cawston scheduled for the same day! Princeton entered my calendar weeks ago when it was published above. Cawston recently published a date for the same day as Princeton, yet there are 3 free days prior and 2 days post Princeton’ count available for a hundred miles around Cawston for January 3.
    I am saddened to see these conflicting, neighboring count dates? Sadly – I must miss one!
    Not to encumber the status qua – but could not “dates” be filtered through a single compiler in the province? Or, in your lead in above – urge compilers to have a second look?
    Frank Schroeder — Hedley

    • Hi Frank,

      BCFO voluntarily provides this one-stop-shop for Christmas Bird Count information as a service to members, and for the general public. It seems a suitable function for a province-wide organization like ourselves to provide.

      While many members like yourself are significant contributors to the CBC program, BCFO has no involvement in how the CBC’s are operated and organized. That’s not our role here, nor one that we have the capacity to take on.

      You could consider taking up your concerns with the individual count compilers, or with the BSC Canadian Coordinator via the Bird Studies Canada website. You’ll find the CBC page under Citizen Science.

      Regards

      George Clulow

  3. Could you please let me know if there is a bird count schedule for either New Denver or Silverton, BC?

    • Closet counts still to be done are Castlegar and Nakusp, both on Jan. 02. Check the contacts on the BCFO website under CBC.

      Cheers
      Larry Cowan

  4. Diane Weismiller

    I think Terrace will have its count on December 27th weather permitting.
    Diane

  5. Karl Sturmanis

    I live in New Westminster and notice that there appears to be no CBC contact. I am interested in doing a count in New West… born and grew up here and just moved back. My background: biologist (speciality hawks & owls) and land use planning.

    • Hi Carl, there is no count circle centred on New Westminster, nor do other count circles capture any areas of the city. Your nearest opportunities to join a CBC are to participate in the Vancouver, White Rock, Ladner, or Pitt Meadows counts. I’m sure one or more of these counts would appreciate your participation. Contact information on this page.

  6. Pleas change my contact info for BCVI (Victoria). Still Ann Nightingale, but email victoriacbc@naturevictoria.ca and phone is 250-5114-6450.

    Also Sooke coordinators are now Travis Muir and Charlene Lloyd, email sookecbc@naturevictoria.ca.

Leave a Reply to larrycowan1944 Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s