CBC’s 2016/2017 Season

CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNTS 2016 – 2017

The 117th Christmas Bird Count
December 14, 2016 through January 5, 2017

NOTE: Information shown below is correct only for counts with a confirmed date.

Updates will be made as we receive count dates from around the Province.

If your count date does not appear below, or information needs adding or correcting, please leave a reply in the comment box at the bottom of this table with the changes to be made.

Thanks.

Count Name Date….. Compiler/Contact Phone # Email
100 Mile House Dec 28
Barrie Bolton 250-383-5127 barrie.bolton@gmail.com
Abbotsford-Mission Dec 30 Lynn Miller lynnmelvinmiller@hotmail.com
Apex-Hedley Dec 15
Eva Durance 250-492-0158 edurance@vip.net
Armstrong-Enderby Jan 02 Geoff Styles 250-833-0391 gem_styles@yahoo.ca
Ashcroft-Cache Creek Dec 21
Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Atlin Dec 30
annagaleschmidt@gmail.com
Bamfield Dec 17
Anne Stewart 250-728-3469 astewart.bamfield@gmail.com
Bella Coola Dec 18 15metutt@gmail.com
 Big White Dec 29 Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Bridesville Jan 04
Doug Brown 250-495-6164 douglasbrown01@yahoo.ca
Bridge Lake Dec 17 Wendy Marshall 250-593-2327 gwmarshall@xplornet.com
Broughton Strait Dec 14 Pete Curtis bigpete@telus.net
Burns Lake-Francois Lake TBA Judy Kleger 250-695-6585 jude@cyber-solutions.ca
Cache Creek  Dec 21
James Hallisey jheb@telus.net
Campbell River Jan 02
Colin Buss 250-850-0884 busster@telus.net
Castlegar Jan 02 Peter McIver  250-365-1191 petermciver@hotmail.com
Cawston Jan 03
Change from Dec 28
Lee McFadyen 250-499-5404 mariposaorgf@hotmail.com
Chilliwack Dec 17 Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Comox Dec 18 Marg Fowler 250-338-4368 marg_fowler2000@yahoo.ca
Cortes Island Dec 17 Nancy Kendel 250-935-8508 cimas@twincomm.ca
Cranbrook Dec 28 Greg Ross 250-489-2566 gsross@shaw.ca
Creston Valley Dec 27 Sharon Laughlin 250-428-7289 slscats2@gmail.com
D’Arcy-Birken Dec 16 Ann Robertson 604-452-3522 robert_i@telus.net
Dawson Creek Jan 02
Mark Phinney 250-843-2318 badgreenbird@gmail.com
Deep Bay Dec 14 Marg Fowler 250-338-4368 marg_fowler2000@yahoo.ca
Duncan Jan 01 Derrick Marven 250-748-8504 marven@shaw.ca
Edgewood Dec 17 jean@edgeconnection.ca
Fauquier TBA Ruth Bumpus 250-269-7481
Fernie Dec 15 Mike Bentley bentley@ucalgary.ca
Fort St. James Dec 22 Joanne Vinnedge 250-996-7401 vinnedgj@telus.net
Galiano-North Saltspring Dec 18 Michael Hoebel 250-539-2003 mhoebel@telus.net
Golden Dec 27 Ellen Zimmerman 250-348-2225 ellenzim@uniserve.com
Grand Forks Dec 17 Jenny Coleshill 250-442-7969 jenny.coleshill@grandbywilderness.ca
Greater Massett Dec 27
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Harrison River Dec 14 Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Harrop–Balfour Dec 17 Elaine Moore 250-352-2168 elmodass@telus.net
Hat Creek Dec 28
Heather Baines 604-938-1738 birdbaines@gmail.com
Hecate Strait Jan 03 Peter Hamel 250-626-3585 hecatebird@gmail.com
Kamloops Dec 17 Rick Howie 250-578-7542 r.howie@shaw.ca
Kaslo Dec 30 Stuart Heard 250-353-7432 heardas@telus.net
Kelowna Dec 17 Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Kimberley Jan 04 Greg Ross 250-489-2566 gsross@shaw.ca
Kingfisher Dec 18 Susan Everatt susan_everatt@telus.net
Kitimat Dec 17 April MacLeod mac2aa@citywest.ca
Ladner Dec 27 Jude Grass 604-538-8774 judegrass@shaw.ca
Lake Country Dec 14 Les Gyug 250-769-5907 les_gyug@shaw.ca
Lake Windermere Dec 26
Randy Hopkins 250-688-6694 dataddict@hotmail.com
Langara Island Dec 14
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Lardeau Dec 27 Marlene Johnston 250-366-4474 macmar@lardeauvalley.com
Lasqueti Island Dec 30 Sheila Ray 250-333-8884 sheila@lasqueti.ca
Lillooet Dec 27 Ian Routley 250-256-4062 ianrout@telus.net
Little R.-Powell R. Ferry Dec 29 Marg Fowler 250-338-4368 marg_fowler2000@yahoo.ca
Logan Lake Dec 20 Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Lower Howe Sound Jan 02 Marja de Jong Westman 604-921-3382 mdjw@telus.net
Mackenzie TBA
David Lambie 250-997-4033 DLambie@telus.net
McBride Dec 18 Elsie Stanley 250-569-2596 stanleys@compositionsinwood.com
Merritt Dec 18 Alan Burger 250-378-2468 aburger@uvic.ca
Naden Harbour Dec 14
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Nakusp Jan 02 Gary Davidson 250-265-4456 gsd37@yahoo.ca
Nanaimo Dec 30 Tanya Seebacher 250-739-9070 tanyaseebacher@gmail.com
Nanoose Bay Dec 16 Rhys Harrison 250-248-5305 rhysharrison@shaw.ca
Narcosli Dec 17 Brian Murland 250-747-1802 murlands@msn.com
Nelson Dec 31 Elaine Moore 250-352-2168 elmodass@telus.net
Oliver-Osoyoos Dec 31
Doug Brown 250-495-6164 douglasbrown01@yahoo.ca
Parksville-Qualicum Beach Dec 18 Sandra Gray
250-248-5565 saninerr@shaw.ca
Peachland Dec 27
Jason & Mathias Bieber 250-718-7519 mbieber1488@gmail.com
Pemberton-Mt. Currie Dec 15
John Tschopp 604-894-6902 jtschopp@shaw.ca
Pender Harbour Dec 21
Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Pender Islands (incl. Mayne & Saturna) Dec 17
Gerald McKeating 250-629-3840 geraldmckeating@shaw.ca
Penticton Dec 18
Richard Cannings 250-493-3393 dickcannings@shaw.ca
Pitt Meadows Dec 17 Larry Cowan 604-465-1402 lawrencecowan@shaw.ca
Port Alberni Dec 31
Annette Bailey dabailey100@gmail.com
Port Clements Dec 22
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Powell River Dec 17 Heather Harbord 604-485-5379 hharbord@shaw.ca
Prince George Dec 18
Cathy Antoniazzi 250-562-2845 canton1@telus.net
Princeton Jan 02 Catherine Lahaie 250-295-7596 encmail@gmail.com
Quesnel Jan 02
Adrian Leather 250-249-5561 q-birds@xplornet.com
Revelstoke Dec 17
Don Manson 250-837-3676 dwman@telus.net
Rivers Inlet Mouth Dec 29 sjcooper63@gmail.com
Rose Spit Dec 20
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Rossland-Warfield Jan 02
Linda Szymkowiak 250-362-7107 lszymk@telus.net
Salmon Arm Dec 18
Ted Hillary 250-832-4755 tedhillary@shaw.ca
Savona-Walhachin Dec 22
Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Shuswap Lake P.P. Dec 20
Rick Howie 250-578-7542 r.howie@shaw.ca
Sidney-South Saltspring Dec 18
Daniel Donnecke sidneycbc@naturevictoria.ca
Skidegate Inlet Dec 29
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Slocan Lake Dec 30
Richard Johnson 250-358-2590 richard.slrc@gmail.com
Smithers Dec 27
Rosamund Pojar 250-847-9429 rpojar@gmail.com
Soda Creek Dec 15
Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Sooke Dec 26 Matt Cameron 250-580-0573 sookecbc@naturevictoria.ca
Squamish Dec 18
Marcie Danielson 604 938 1738 myd123@telus.net
Stuix-Tweedsmuir Jan 02 Dennis Kuch dok@stuix.ca
Sunshine Coast Dec 17
Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Terrace Dec 18
Diane Weismiller 250-635-6984 dweismiller@telus.net
Tlell Dec 18
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Trail-Beaver Valley Dec 17
Arnold By 250-368-3068 awby@shaw.ca
Tumbler Ridge Jan 01
Charles Helm 250-242-3984 helm.c.w@gmail.com
Vancouver Dec 18
Adrian Grant-Duff 604-263-7957 angrantduff@gmail.com
Vaseux Lake Dec 21
Richard Cannings 250-493-3393 dickcannings@shaw.ca
Vernon Dec 18
Peter Blokker 250-545-8297 pfblokker@telus.net
Victoria Dec 17
Ann Nightingale 250-652-6450 motmot@shaw.ca
Wells & Bowron Lakes Dec 27
Birch Kuch flageolet@hotmail.com
Whistler Dec 14
James Hallisey jheb@telus.net
White Rock Jan 02 Gareth Pugh gareth@intergate.ca
Williams Lake Dec 18
Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Yalakom Valley Dec 31
Eleanor Wright 778-770-1649 eleanor.ronaele@gmail.com
TBA

Last updated December 28, 2016

6 responses to “CBC’s 2016/2017 Season

  1. When are the totals for B.C. (and the Okanagan in particular) posted online? Thanks.

    • We’ll post the remainder of the Okanagan counts on our results page when we receive them from the compilers. Please note these are not official results, just provisional as the results come in.

      Totals for BC are published by Bird Studies Canada in Bird Watch Canada magazine in the spring .

      Full official results for all counts may be found at the National Audubon Society .

  2. Frank Schroeder

    I am disappointed to see Princeton and Cawston scheduled for the same day! Princeton entered my calendar weeks ago when it was published above. Cawston recently published a date for the same day as Princeton, yet there are 3 free days prior and 2 days post Princeton’ count available for a hundred miles around Cawston for January 3.
    I am saddened to see these conflicting, neighboring count dates? Sadly – I must miss one!
    Not to encumber the status qua – but could not “dates” be filtered through a single compiler in the province? Or, in your lead in above – urge compilers to have a second look?
    Frank Schroeder — Hedley

    • Hi Frank,

      BCFO voluntarily provides this one-stop-shop for Christmas Bird Count information as a service to members, and for the general public. It seems a suitable function for a province-wide organization like ourselves to provide.

      While many members like yourself are significant contributors to the CBC program, BCFO has no involvement in how the CBC’s are operated and organized. That’s not our role here, nor one that we have the capacity to take on.

      You could consider taking up your concerns with the individual count compilers, or with the BSC Canadian Coordinator via the Bird Studies Canada website. You’ll find the CBC page under Citizen Science.

      Regards

      George Clulow

  3. Could you please let me know if there is a bird count schedule for either New Denver or Silverton, BC?

    • Closet counts still to be done are Castlegar and Nakusp, both on Jan. 02. Check the contacts on the BCFO website under CBC.

      Cheers
      Larry Cowan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s