CBC’s 2019/2020 Season

CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNTS 2019 – 2020

The 120th Christmas Bird Count
Saturday, December 14, 2019 through Sunday, January 5, 2020.

NOTE: Information shown below is correct only for counts with a confirmed date.

Updates will be made as we receive count dates from around the Province.

If your count date does not appear below, or information needs adding or correcting, please leave a reply in the comment box at the bottom of this table with the changes to be made.

Thanks.

Count Name Date….. Compiler/Contact Phone # Email
100 Mile House TBA
Barrie Bolton 250-383-5127 barrie.bolton@gmail.com
Abbotsford-Mission Dec 30 Ken Summers ken.summers@telus.net
Apex-Hedley  TBA Eva Durance 250-492-0158 edurance@vip.net
Armstrong-Enderby ? Geoff Styles 250-833-0391 gem_styles@yahoo.ca
Ashcroft-Cache Creek TBA
Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Atlin
Bamfield Dec 16
Anne Stewart 250-728-3469 astewart.bamfield@gmail.com
Bella Coola TBA
 Mary Tutt 15metutt@gmail.com
Big White Dec 19
Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Bridesville ?
Doug Brown 250-495-6164 douglasbrown01@yahoo.ca
Bridge Lake Dec 14
Wendy Marshall 250-593-2327 gwmarshall@xplornet.com
Broughton Strait Dec 28
Peter Curtis bigpete@telus.net
Burns Lake-Francois Lake TBA Judy Kleger 250-695-6585 jude@cyber-solutions.ca
Cache Creek  ?
James Hallisey jheb@telus.net
Campbell River Dec 29
Amandy Vaughn

Kim Prystupa

Doug Phyall

mandyjv@telus.net<

balticseadove@gmail.com

dphyall@shaw.ca

Castlegar Dec 21
Craig Sandvig craigsandvig@gmail.com
Cawston ? Lee McFadyen 250-499-5404 mariposaorgf@hotmail.com
Chilliwack Dec 14
Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Comox Dec 15
Art Martell amartell@shaw.ca
Cortes Island Dec 28 Nancy Kendel 250-935-8508 cimas@twincomm.ca
Cranbrook Dec 28
Dianne Cooper 250-427-1921 dicooper.bc@outlook.com
Creston Valley TBA
Sharon Laughlin 250-428-7289 slscats2@gmail.com
D’Arcy-Birken Dec 16 Ann Robertson 604-452-3522 robert_i@telus.net
Dawson Creek Jan 04
Mark Phinney 250-843-2318 badgreenbird@gmail.com
Deep Bay Dec 22
Art Martell amartell@shaw.ca
Duncan Jan 01 Derrick Marven 250-748-8504 marven@shaw.ca
Edgewood ? jean@edgeconnection.ca
Fauquier ? Ruth Bumpus 250-269-7481
Fernie TBA
Mike Bentley bentley@ucalgary.ca
Fort St. James TBA
Joanne Vinnedge 250-996-7401 vinnedgj@telus.net
Galiano-North Saltspring Dec 15 Mike Hoebel (Galiano)

Peter McAllister (N.Saltspring)

mhoebel@telus.net
pbmcallister@gmail.com
Golden Dec 27
Ellen Zimmerman 250-348-2225 ellenzim@uniserve.com
Grand Forks Dec 21
Jenny Coleshill 250-442-7969 jenny.coleshill@grandbywilderness.ca
Greater Massett Dec 27
Rev. Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 delkatla@mhtv.catebird@gmail.com
Harrison River Dec 17
Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Harrop–Balfour Dec 14 Charlie Zinka charlie.zinkan@gmail.com
Hat Creek Dec 29
Heather Baines 604-938-1738 birdbaines@gmail.com
Hecate Strait ? Peter Hamel 250-626-3585 hecatebird@gmail.com
Kamloops Dec 22
Rick Howie 250-578-7542 howierick@gmail.com
Kaslo Dec 30
Stuart Heard 250-353-7432 heardas@kaslo.org
Kelowna Dec 14 Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Kimberley Jan 04
Dianne Cooper 250-427-1921 dicooper.bc@outlook.com
Kingfisher ? Susan Everatt susan_everatt@telus.net
Kitimat Dec 14
April MacLeod mac2aa@citywest.ca
Ladner Dec 21
Jude Grass 604-219-2043 judegrass@shaw.ca
Lake Country Dec 16 Les Gyug 250-769-5907 les_gyug@shaw.ca
Lake Windermere TBA
Cam Gillies cam.gillies@telus.net
Langara Island ?
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Lardeau Dec 27 Marlene Johnston 250-366-4474 macmar@lardeauvalley.com
Lasqueti Island Dec 29
Sheila Ray 250-333-8884 sheila@lasqueti.ca
Lillooet Dec 26
Ian Routley 250-256-4062 ianrout@telus.net
Little R.-Powell R. Ferry Dec 30
Art Martell amartell@shaw.ca
Logan Lake TBA
Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Lower Howe Sound Jan 04 Marja de Jong Westman (West Van)
Richard Wing (Bowen Island)
604-921-3382

604-947-9294

mdjw@telus.net
rwing@telus.net
Mackenzie ? David Lambie 250-997-4033 DLambie@telus.net
McBride Dec 15 Elsie Stanley 250-569-2596 glen.elsie.stanley@gmail.com
Merritt Dec 15
Alan Burger 250-378-2468 aburger@uvic.ca
Naden Harbour ?
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Nakusp Dec 29
Gary Davidson gsd37@yahoo.ca
Nanaimo Dec 28 Tanya Seebacher 250-739-9070 tanyaseebacher@gmail.com
Nanoose Bay TBA Joe Crichton 250-747-1802 joecrichton@shaw.ca
Narcosli Dec 15
Brian Murland 250-747-1802 murlands@msn.com
Nelson Jan 04
Elaine Moore 250-352-2168 elmodass@telus.net
Oliver-Osoyoos Dec 28
Doug Brown 778-437-2048
Parksville-Qualicum Beach Dec 15
Sandra Gray
250-248-5565 saninerr@shaw.ca
Peachland Dec 27
Jason & Mathias Bieber 250-718-7519 mbieber1488@gmail.com
Pemberton-Mt. Currie Dec 17
Allen McEwan 604-894-6063 mcewansfarm@shawbiz.ca
Pender Harbour Dec 14
Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Pender Islands (incl. Mayne & Saturna) Dec 14 John Peetsma jfpeetsma@shaw.ca
Penticton Dec 15 Dick Cannings dickcannings@shaw.ca
Pitt Meadows Jan 04 Jennifer Tayes (Pitt Meadows)
Victoria (Tri-cities)
jtayes@shaw.ca

victoria_otton@sfu.ca

Port Alberni Dec 28
Annette Bailey  250-793-5408 dabailey100@gmail.com
Port Clements TBA
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Powell River Dec 14 Andrew Bryant anddrewbryant@shaw.ca
Prince George Dec 15
Cathy Antoniazzi 250-562-2845 canton1@telus.net
Princeton Dec 15
Cathy Lahaie 250-295-7596 encmail@gmail.com
Quesnel Dec 29
Adrian Leather 250-249-5561 q-birds@xplornet.com
Revelstoke Dec 21
Don Manson 250-837-3676 dwman@telus.net
Rivers Inlet Mouth ? sjcooper63@gmail.com
Rose Spit TBA
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Rossland-Warfield TBA
Linda Szymkowiak 250-362-7107 lszymk@telus.net
Salmon Arm Dec 22
Ted Hillary 250-832-4755 tedhillary@shaw.ca
Savona-Walhachin TBA
Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Shuswap Lake P.P. Dec 15
Rick Howie 250-578-7542 howierick@gmail.com
Sidney-South Saltspring Dec 15 Daniel Donnecke sidneycbc@naturevictoria.ca
Skidegate Inlet TBA
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Slocan Lake TBA
Richard Johnson 250-358-2590 richard.slrc@gmail.com
Smithers TBA
Rosamund Pojar 250-847-9429 rpojar@gmail.com
Soda Creek TBA
Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Sooke Dec 28
Charlene Lloyd sookecbc@naturevictoria.ca
Squamish Dec 15
Marcia Danielson 604-898-9420 myd123@telus.net
Stuix-Tweedsmuir Dec 21 Dennis Kuch dok@stuix.ca
Sunshine Coast Dec 18
Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Terrace Dec 22
Diane Weismiller 250-635-6984 dweismiller@telus.net
Tlell TBA
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Trail-Beaver Valley Discontinued
Tumbler Ridge TBA
Charles Helm 250-242-3984 helm.c.w@gmail.com
Vancouver Dec 14
Colin Clasen colin@naturevancouver.ca
Vaseux Lake Dec 21
Richard Cannings 250-493-3393 dickcannings@shaw.ca
Vernon Dec 15 Rick Bonar rick.bonar@hotmail.com
Victoria Dec 14
Ann Nightingale victoriacbc@naturevictoria.ca
Wells & Bowron Lakes Dec 27
Birch Kuch flageolet@hotmail.com
Whistler Dec 14
James Hallisey jheb@telus.net
White Rock Dec 28
Gareth Pugh gareth@intergate.ca
Williams Lake Dec 15 Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Yalakom Valley TBA
Eleanor Wright 778-770-1649 eleanor.ronaele@gmail.com

Last updated November 20, 2019

15 responses to “CBC’s 2019/2020 Season

  1. When are the totals for B.C. (and the Okanagan in particular) posted online? Thanks.

    • We’ll post the remainder of the Okanagan counts on our results page when we receive them from the compilers. Please note these are not official results, just provisional as the results come in.

      Totals for BC are published by Bird Studies Canada in Bird Watch Canada magazine in the spring .

      Full official results for all counts may be found at the National Audubon Society .

  2. Frank Schroeder

    I am disappointed to see Princeton and Cawston scheduled for the same day! Princeton entered my calendar weeks ago when it was published above. Cawston recently published a date for the same day as Princeton, yet there are 3 free days prior and 2 days post Princeton’ count available for a hundred miles around Cawston for January 3.
    I am saddened to see these conflicting, neighboring count dates? Sadly – I must miss one!
    Not to encumber the status qua – but could not “dates” be filtered through a single compiler in the province? Or, in your lead in above – urge compilers to have a second look?
    Frank Schroeder — Hedley

    • Hi Frank,

      BCFO voluntarily provides this one-stop-shop for Christmas Bird Count information as a service to members, and for the general public. It seems a suitable function for a province-wide organization like ourselves to provide.

      While many members like yourself are significant contributors to the CBC program, BCFO has no involvement in how the CBC’s are operated and organized. That’s not our role here, nor one that we have the capacity to take on.

      You could consider taking up your concerns with the individual count compilers, or with the BSC Canadian Coordinator via the Bird Studies Canada website. You’ll find the CBC page under Citizen Science.

      Regards

      George Clulow

  3. Could you please let me know if there is a bird count schedule for either New Denver or Silverton, BC?

    • Closet counts still to be done are Castlegar and Nakusp, both on Jan. 02. Check the contacts on the BCFO website under CBC.

      Cheers
      Larry Cowan

  4. Diane Weismiller

    I think Terrace will have its count on December 27th weather permitting.
    Diane

  5. Karl Sturmanis

    I live in New Westminster and notice that there appears to be no CBC contact. I am interested in doing a count in New West… born and grew up here and just moved back. My background: biologist (speciality hawks & owls) and land use planning.

    • Hi Carl, there is no count circle centred on New Westminster, nor do other count circles capture any areas of the city. Your nearest opportunities to join a CBC are to participate in the Vancouver, White Rock, Ladner, or Pitt Meadows counts. I’m sure one or more of these counts would appreciate your participation. Contact information on this page.

  6. Pleas change my contact info for BCVI (Victoria). Still Ann Nightingale, but email victoriacbc@naturevictoria.ca and phone is 250-5114-6450.

    Also Sooke coordinators are now Travis Muir and Charlene Lloyd, email sookecbc@naturevictoria.ca.

  7. Hello! Re. the Sooke count for 2019, Travis is no longer able to particpate. Please update by removing his name as a contact. Many thanks!

  8. BCPQ date is Dec 15, 2019. Note new compiler is Sandra Gray saninerr@shaw.ca 250-248-5565

  9. His name has been removed. Thanks for letting us know.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s