CBC’s 2017/2018 Season

CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNTS 2017 – 2018

The 118th Christmas Bird Count
December 14, 2017 through January 5, 2018

NOTE: Information shown below is correct only for counts with a confirmed date.

Updates will be made as we receive count dates from around the Province.

If your count date does not appear below, or information needs adding or correcting, please leave a reply in the comment box at the bottom of this table with the changes to be made.

Thanks.

Count Name Date….. Compiler/Contact Phone # Email
100 Mile House Dec 28
Barrie Bolton 250-383-5127 barrie.bolton@gmail.com
Abbotsford-Mission Dec 29 Stan Olson smkd@shaw.ca
Apex-Hedley
Eva Durance 250-492-0158 edurance@vip.net
Armstrong-Enderby ? Geoff Styles 250-833-0391 gem_styles@yahoo.ca
Ashcroft-Cache Creek Dec 21
Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Atlin Dec 28
annagaleschmidt@gmail.com
Bamfield Dec 17
Anne Stewart 250-728-3469 astewart.bamfield@gmail.com
Bella Coola Dec 17  Mary Tutt 15metutt@gmail.com
 Big White Dec 28 Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Bridesville ?
Doug Brown 250-495-6164 douglasbrown01@yahoo.ca
Bridge Lake Dec 16 Wendy Marshall 250-593-2327 gwmarshall@xplornet.com
Broughton Strait Dec 30 Pete Curtis bigpete@telus.net
Burns Lake-Francois Lake Judy Kleger 250-695-6585 jude@cyber-solutions.ca
Cache Creek  ?
James Hallisey jheb@telus.net
Campbell River Dec 28
Colin Buss 250-850-0884 busster@telus.net
Castlegar Jan 02 Peter McIver  250-365-1191 petermciver@hotmail.com
Cawston ? Lee McFadyen 250-499-5404 mariposaorgf@hotmail.com
Chilliwack Dec 16 Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Comox Dec 17 Marg Fowler 250-338-4368 marg_fowler2000@yahoo.ca
Cortes Island ? Nancy Kendel 250-935-8508 cimas@twincomm.ca
Cranbrook ? Greg Ross 250-489-2566 gsross@shaw.ca
Creston Valley Dec 27 Sharon Laughlin 250-428-7289 slscats2@gmail.com
D’Arcy-Birken Dec 18 Ann Robertson 604-452-3522 robert_i@telus.net
Dawson Creek Jan 05
Mark Phinney 250-843-2318 badgreenbird@gmail.com
Deep Bay Dec 14 Marg Fowler 250-338-4368 marg_fowler2000@yahoo.ca
Duncan Jan 01 Derrick Marven 250-748-8504 marven@shaw.ca
Edgewood ? jean@edgeconnection.ca
Fauquier ? Ruth Bumpus 250-269-7481
Fernie Dec 14 Kevin Knight bentley@ucalgary.ca
Fort St. James Dec 28 Joanne Vinnedge 250-996-7401 vinnedgj@telus.net
Galiano-North Saltspring Dec 17 Michael Hoebel 250-539-2003 mhoebel@telus.net
Golden Dec 27 Ellen Zimmerman 250-348-2225 ellenzim@uniserve.com
Grand Forks Dec 16 Jenny Coleshill 250-442-7969 jenny.coleshill@grandbywilderness.ca
Greater Massett Dec 27
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Harrison River Dec 14 Denis Knopp 604-858-5141 bcwilddenis@uniserve.com
Harrop–Balfour Dec 16 Charlie Zinka charlie.zinkan@gmail.com
Hat Creek Dec 27
Heather Baines 604-938-1738 birdbaines@gmail.com
Hecate Strait ? Peter Hamel 250-626-3585 hecatebird@gmail.com
Kamloops Dec 17 Rick Howie 250-578-7542 r.howie@shaw.ca
Kaslo Dec 30 Stuart Heard 250-353-7432 heardas@telus.net
Kelowna Dec 16 Chris Charlesworth 250-718-0335 c_charlesworth23@hotmail.com
Kimberley ? Greg Ross 250-489-2566 gsross@shaw.ca
Kingfisher ? Susan Everatt susan_everatt@telus.net
Kitimat Dec 16 April MacLeod mac2aa@citywest.ca
Ladner Dec 23 Jude Grass 604-538-8774 judegrass@shaw.ca
Lake Country Dec 14 Les Gyug 250-769-5907 les_gyug@shaw.ca
Lake Windermere Dec 26
Cam Gillies cam.gillies@telus.net
Langara Island ?
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Lardeau Dec 27 Marlene Johnston 250-366-4474 macmar@lardeauvalley.com
Lasqueti Island Dec 30 Sheila Ray 250-333-8884 sheila@lasqueti.ca
Lillooet Dec 27 Ian Routley 250-256-4062 ianrout@telus.net
Little R.-Powell R. Ferry Jan 02 Marg Fowler 250-338-4368 marg_fowler2000@yahoo.ca
Logan Lake Dec 20 Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Lower Howe Sound Jan 01 Marja de Jong Westman 604-921-3382 mdjw@telus.net
Mackenzie ? David Lambie 250-997-4033 DLambie@telus.net
McBride Dec 17 Elsie Stanley 250-569-2596 stanleys@compositionsinwood.com
Merritt Dec 16 Alan Burger 250-378-2468 aburger@uvic.ca
Naden Harbour ?
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Nakusp Dec 30 Gary Davidson 250-265-4456 gsd37@yahoo.ca
Nanaimo Dec 30 Tanya Seebacher 250-739-9070 tanyaseebacher@gmail.com
Nanoose Bay Dec 15 Rhys Harrison 250-248-5305 rhysharrison@shaw.ca
Narcosli Jan 05 Brian Murland 250-747-1802 murlands@msn.com
Nelson Dec 30 Elaine Moore 250-352-2168 elmodass@telus.net
Oliver-Osoyoos Dec 30
Doug Brown 250-495-6164 douglasbrown01@yahoo.ca
Parksville-Qualicum Beach Dec 17 Sandra Gray
250-248-5565 saninerr@shaw.ca
Peachland Dec 27
Jason & Mathias Bieber 250-718-7519 mbieber1488@gmail.com
Pemberton-Mt. Currie Dec 15
John Tschopp 604-894-6902 jtschopp@shaw.ca
Pender Harbour Dec 20
Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Pender Islands (incl. Mayne & Saturna) Dec 16
Gerald McKeating 250-629-3840 geraldmckeating@shaw.ca
Penticton Dec 17
Richard Cannings 250-493-3393 dickcannings@shaw.ca
Pitt Meadows Dec 16 Michael Sather (Pitt Meadows)

John Reynolds (Tri-cities)

michaelsather@gmail.com

 

reynolds@sfu.ca

Port Alberni Dec 30
Annette Bailey  250-793-5408 dabailey100@gmail.com
Port Clements ?
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Powell River Dec 16 Heather Harbord 604-485-5379 hharbord@shaw.ca
Prince George Dec 17
Cathy Antoniazzi 250-562-2845 canton1@telus.net
Princeton ? Catherine Lahaie 250-295-7596 encmail@gmail.com
Quesnel ?
Adrian Leather 250-249-5561 q-birds@xplornet.com
Revelstoke Dec 16
Don Manson 250-837-3676 dwman@telus.net
Rivers Inlet Mouth ? sjcooper63@gmail.com
Rose Spit ?
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Rossland-Warfield ?
Linda Szymkowiak 250-362-7107 lszymk@telus.net
Salmon Arm Dec 17
Ted Hillary 250-832-4755 tedhillary@shaw.ca
Savona-Walhachin Dec 22
Bert Parke 250-523-9935 bparke@telus.net
Shuswap Lake P.P. ?
Rick Howie 250-578-7542 r.howie@shaw.ca
Sidney-South Saltspring Dec 17
Daniel Donnecke sidneycbc@naturevictoria.ca
Skidegate Inlet ?
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Slocan Lake ?
Richard Johnson 250-358-2590 richard.slrc@gmail.com
Smithers Dec 27
Rosamund Pojar 250-847-9429 rpojar@gmail.com
Soda Creek ?
Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Sooke Dec 28 Matt Cameron 250-580-0573 cameron_43@msn.com
Squamish Dec 17
Marcia Danielson 604-898-9420 myd123@telus.net
Stuix-Tweedsmuir Dec 21 Dennis Kuch dok@stuix.ca
Sunshine Coast Dec 16
Tony Greenfield 604-885-5539 tony@whiskeyjacknaturetours.com
Terrace Dec 27
Diane Weismiller 250-635-6984 dweismiller@telus.net
Tlell ?
Peter Hamel 250-626-5015 hecatebird@gmail.com
Trail-Beaver Valley ?
Arnold By 250-368-3068 awby@shaw.ca
Tumbler Ridge ?
Charles Helm 250-242-3984 helm.c.w@gmail.com
Vancouver Dec 17
Adrian Grant-Duff 604-263-7957 angrantduff@gmail.com
Vaseux Lake Dec 23
Richard Cannings 250-493-3393 dickcannings@shaw.ca
Vernon Dec 17
Peter Blokker 250-545-8297 pfblokker@telus.net
Victoria Dec 16
Ann Nightingale 250-652-6450 motmot@shaw.ca
Wells & Bowron Lakes Dec 28
Birch Kuch flageolet@hotmail.com
Whistler Dec 14
James Hallisey jheb@telus.net
White Rock Dec 30 Gareth Pugh gareth@intergate.ca
Williams Lake ?
Phil Ranson 250-398-7110 ranson1@telus.net
Yalakom Valley ? Eleanor Wright 778-770-1649 eleanor.ronaele@gmail.com
TBA

Last updated November 15, 2017

8 responses to “CBC’s 2017/2018 Season

  1. When are the totals for B.C. (and the Okanagan in particular) posted online? Thanks.

    • We’ll post the remainder of the Okanagan counts on our results page when we receive them from the compilers. Please note these are not official results, just provisional as the results come in.

      Totals for BC are published by Bird Studies Canada in Bird Watch Canada magazine in the spring .

      Full official results for all counts may be found at the National Audubon Society .

  2. Frank Schroeder

    I am disappointed to see Princeton and Cawston scheduled for the same day! Princeton entered my calendar weeks ago when it was published above. Cawston recently published a date for the same day as Princeton, yet there are 3 free days prior and 2 days post Princeton’ count available for a hundred miles around Cawston for January 3.
    I am saddened to see these conflicting, neighboring count dates? Sadly – I must miss one!
    Not to encumber the status qua – but could not “dates” be filtered through a single compiler in the province? Or, in your lead in above – urge compilers to have a second look?
    Frank Schroeder — Hedley

    • Hi Frank,

      BCFO voluntarily provides this one-stop-shop for Christmas Bird Count information as a service to members, and for the general public. It seems a suitable function for a province-wide organization like ourselves to provide.

      While many members like yourself are significant contributors to the CBC program, BCFO has no involvement in how the CBC’s are operated and organized. That’s not our role here, nor one that we have the capacity to take on.

      You could consider taking up your concerns with the individual count compilers, or with the BSC Canadian Coordinator via the Bird Studies Canada website. You’ll find the CBC page under Citizen Science.

      Regards

      George Clulow

  3. Could you please let me know if there is a bird count schedule for either New Denver or Silverton, BC?

    • Closet counts still to be done are Castlegar and Nakusp, both on Jan. 02. Check the contacts on the BCFO website under CBC.

      Cheers
      Larry Cowan

  4. Diane Weismiller

    I think Terrace will have its count on December 27th weather permitting.
    Diane

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s